Education is the key to freedom

WHAT WE DO

Systemic education in Gambia


Where do we engage?

The non-profit organization 'AT EYE LEVEL - Systemic Education in The Gambia e.V.' promotes the pre-school education of three to seven year old children in preschools, the training and further education of teachers, as well as the equipping of preschools in The Gambia/West Africa, one of the poorest countries on the continent.

Gambia is located in West Africa. It is the smallest country on the African mainland. The official name is "Republic of The Gambia". The Gambia River, which gives the country its name, runs through the entire country from east to west. It is almost completely surrounded by Senegal. Gambia gained its independence from Great Britain in 1965. The official language of the country is English, as is the school system and the language of instruction.
Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version).



What does 'systemic' mean?

Systemic education means, in principle, empowerment for self-organisation. Education with the goal of self-organisation of the individual and his or her social systems is a path to freedom through experienced self-efficacy.  

Systemic education sees itself as an achievement of the learner, not as the result of input from outside. Students and teachers find their own ways of understanding and shaping themselves and the environment.
This is made possible by a high degree of self-activity and is linked to the absence of power and external determination.
The process of learning is based on reciprocity (circularity): Reciprocity between thinking and feeling, experiencing and acting, between teachers and pupils.
Methodological openness and diversity are indispensable, as is a relationship "at eye level".

Why education in Gambia?


Education means the promotion of independence and self-determination. It is an essential prerequisite for a self-reliant life with a future; education is the key to freedom.
However, illiteracy is still considerably widespread in The Gambia, and the English school system fosters it because instruction is conducted in English even in elementary school.
The problem is, however, that Gambian children learn their tribal languages (e.g., Mandinka, Wolof, Fulla) at home
Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version).

Without preparation through the learning of first English skills in a preschool, many children are denied a successful school career and the prospect of a qualified education. This is exactly where the commitment of our non-profit organization comes into play: Preschool children learn English in a playful way so that they can immediately follow on later in elementary school.

What happens with the donations?


The donations are used to finance the salaries of the teachers at our preschools as well as their training at the college in Brikama, the second largest city in Gambia, and their further qualification.
Necessary constructional measures, such as the building of school toilets, the construction of wells, the fencing of school grounds, the construction of playground equipment, etc. are also part of the investments, as are the collection of toy donations and their transport from Germany to Gambia.

Every year, several members of the association visit our partners in The Gambia and accompany their work on site with words and deeds and the firm conviction that they are learners there themselves.

Our non-profit association "AT EYE LEVEL - Systemic Education in Gambia e. V." is registered in the register of associations of the district court of Cologne (VR 18607) and is officially recognized as a "Charitable Association" in The Gambia.                    (Company Number 2016/C3784)

HOW WE SUPPORT

Our Projects
 



WHAT'S NOW?

Sponsor our projects

Bildung ist der Schlüssel zur Freiheit

WAS WIR TUN

Systemische Bildung in Gambia


Wo engagieren wir uns?

Der Verein 'AT EYE LEVEL - Systemische Bildung in Gambia e.V.' fördert die Vorschul-Erziehung von drei- bis siebenjährigen Kindern in Preschools, die Aus- und Weiterbildung von Lehrkräften, sowie die Aussattung von Vorschulen in Gambia/West-Afrika, einem der ärmsten Länder des Kontinents.

Gambia liegt in Westafrika. Es ist das kleinste Land auf dem afrikanischn Festland. Der offizielle Name lautet "Republic of The Gmbia". Der namensgebende Gambia-River durchzieht das ganze Land von Ost nach West. Es wird fast vollständig vom Senegal umschlossen. Seine Unabhängigkeit von Großbritannien erlangte The Gambia 1965. Die Amtssprache des Landes ist Englisch, ebenso wie das Schulsystem und die Lehrsprache.



Was bedeutet ,systemisch'?

Systemische Bildung bedeutet im Grundsatz, Befähigung zur Selbstorganisation. Bildung mit dem Ziel der Selbstorganisation des Individuums und seiner sozialen Systeme, ist ein Weg in die Freiheit durch erlebte Selbstwirksamkeit.  

Systemische Bildung versteht sich als eine Leistung des Lernenden selbst, nicht als Ergebnis eines Inputs von außen.  Schüler:innen und auch Lehrer:innen finden ihre eigenen Wege, sich und die Umwelt zu verstehen und zu gestalten.

Dies wird möglich durch ein hohes Maß an Selbsttätigkeit und ist an die Abwesenheit von Macht und Fremdbestimmung geknüpft.

Der Prozess des Lernens ist auf Wechselseitigkeit (Zirkularität) angelegt: Wechselseitigkeit zwischen denken und fühlen, erfahren und handeln, zwischen Lehrer:innen und Schüler:innen.

Methodische Offenheit und Vielfalt ist dabei unerlässlich, ebenso wie Beziehung "auf Augenhöhe"

Warum Bildung in Gambia?


Bildung bedeutet die Förderung von Eigenständigkeit und Selbstbestimmung. Sie ist eine wesentliche Voraussetzung für ein eigenverantwortliches Leben mit Zukunft, Bildung ist der Schlüssel zur Freiheit.

Doch Analphabetismus ist weiterhin in Gambia erheblich verbreitet, und das englische Schulsystem begünstigt diesen, weil der Unterricht bereits in den Grundschulen auf englisch geführt wird.

Das Problem ist jedoch: Gambische Kinder lernen zu Hause ihre Stammessprachen (z. B. Mandinka, Wolof, Fulla).

Ohne Vorbereitung durch das Erwerben erster Englisch-Kenntnisse in einer Preschool bleibt vielen Kindern eine gelingende Schullaufbahn und die Aussicht auf eine qualifizierte Ausbildung verwehrt. Genau hier setzt das Engagement unseres Vereins an: Vorschulkinder lernen spielerisch englisch, damit sie später in der Grundschule unmittelbar anschließen können.

Was passiert mit den Spendengeldern?


Mit den Spendengeldern werden die Gehälter der Lehrer:innen an unseren Preschools ebenso finanziert wie deren Ausbildung am College in Brikama, der zweitgrößten Stadt Gambias, sowie deren Weiterqualifizierung.

Notwendige bauliche Maßnahmen, wie das Errichten von Schultoiletten, Brunnenbau, Einfriedung  Schulgelände, Bau von Spielgeräten etc. zählen ebenso zu den Investitionen wie Sammeln von Spielzeugspenden und deren Transport von Deutschland nach Gambia.

Jedes Jahr besuchen mehrere Vereinsmitglieder unsere Partner:innen in Gambia und begleiten deren Arbeit vor Ort mit Rat und Tat und der festen Überzeugung, dort selbst Lernende zu sein.

Unser gemeinnützige Verein "AT EYE LEVEL - Systemische Bildung in Gambia e. V." wird im Vereinsregister des Amtsgerichts Köln geführt      (VR 18607) und ist in Gambia als "Charitable Association" staatlich anerkannt.                    (Company Number 2016/C3784)

WIE WIR HELFEN

Unsere Projekte
 



WAS JETZT?

Fördern Sie unsere Projekte